Looking for some term guidance or a glossary of game dev concepts

• I’m a seasoned web developer that has dabbled in making games and am looking to do a lot more game development. Nothing too fancy, mostly puzzle games and some very basic 2D top-down Gauntlet-style shooting games.

I’m comfortable with all the coding, geometry, and overall game design layout but I’m starting to get deeper into adding polish to a game I’m working on and I realize that I don’t know the terms for some of the things I want to do… so naming methods/events for these is awkward, and I can’t Google the terms I want to get assistance on. I’m hoping someone here can point to a decent glossary, or provide a few key terms for me to latch on to for searches.

For example:
    1.) What is the term/concept called when a players’ score or coin count is updated and the text part pulses and scales up/flashes temporarily with some sort of “cha-ching” sound before shrinking back to its normal size?
    2.) Is there a common term for a “post level completion” 3/4 overlay type screen showing statistics for that level/run? (e.g. you scored 375,245 points, got 2 stars, 3x bonus points, found 4 secrets…)
    3.) At the end of a level, on the kind of screen listed above, the “coins” and points earned are often “turbo” flooded into the display adding a bit of excitement, but also not too much time so the player can go to the next stage… what is this kind of turbo score update called?
    4.) Finally when in a fighting / battle game of some kind… say like 1942… often when you kill an enemy they explode/fade out but “from the ashes” of the enemy a number of points awarded “floats up and vanishes”… e.g. “+500”, or “1up” when you collect a special item. Is there a term for these “score toast” messages?

Thanks in advance. For what its worth I’m making HTML5 games, and the current one is using Phaser JS.

• Tiger Hat

Hmm I’m not sure there actually is such a glossary. I’ll give a crack at your questions however.