Lostcast 106: Entity Cross-platform Something

• Tiger Hat

I’m currently only half way through, so first I’ll just bring up some stuff about Windows. I don’t use a Mac at all, I’ve been a windows user forever, and it’s because of gaming. My day job is in web development, and I am almost always the odd man out with a lone laptop without an apple on the back of it. I guess it’s because of Linux, and Mac being basically Linux with a better UX, and because web servers are frequently in Linux (because it’s FOSS). So I see how it happened. I can tell you though, that it’s a source of constant frustration with all of the things productivity related that are Linux/Mac only or at least first. For example NodeJS was once Linux only and there are still a handful of packages that don’t run well on Windows (or at all in some cases).

Having ranted a little about that, I want to say that I still use Windows every day so I can tell you a little bit about the things that I use to push through. One we’ve talked a little about before, and that’s how you use Make to call a bunch of bash things for your build. This is where I suggest using a cross platform tool like NodeJS or Python. If you take the time to create your build tools using Gulp or Grunt for example (NodeJS), then they’ll work on both and you have one less context switch (plus you get to write tools in Javascript of course). Another thing that you might want to do is install Git for Windows. It comes with “Git Bash” which is a shell that has some of the familiar features. From having to work with Linuxy environments so often, I actually prefer and got used to typing “ls” all the time instead of “dir /w” for example. Not everything works of course, but some of it does, perhaps enough for what you need to get done. Speaking of git, I use SourceTree which is actually for both Windows & Mac. It also comes with a bash-like terminal and since you can use it on both can help with the flow between.